Our Eightfold Path for 12 Step Groups

The Eightfold Path is the essential Way discovered by the historical Buddha 2, 600 years ago. It is the practical guide of life that leads to the cessation of suffering (dukkha) and spiritual liberation. The eight interlocking branches are as follows.

Right Views: the right understanding of the Buddha’s teachings

Right Aspirations: high and noble aims

Right Speech: speaking kind words

Right Conduct: right behavior

Right Livelihood: an honest professional life

Right Effort: perseverance in goodness

Right Mindfulness: right use of the intellect

Right Meditation: meditation and prayer on the Buddha and the Dharma